THE Password 


I stared at the wall in frustration then looked down at the phone in my hands and all I felt like doing was smashing the phone on that wall.

“Why now?” I murmured as I walked the length and breadth of the room, desperately punching my phone’s keypads but they wouldn’t budge. My roommates knew better than to ask what was wrong so they had all retreated into a corner like frightened rats.

Heaven knows I needed to make that call but my phone’s screen only displayed ‘incorrect password’. I tried the password over and again, rewriting the password each of those times until my phone instructed me to retry after 30 seconds (the phone I bought with my hard-earned money now dictated when it wanted to be unlocked!), those 30 seconds felt like 30 years to me- but it was as though a calming effect came with each second that ticked by. Immediately I could retry, I did it more patiently and that was when I realized that my Caps lock key had been on. I turned it off, typed in my password and my gorgeous self smiled at me, all thanks to my screensaver. I couldn’t help but smile back.

A couple of hours after that scenario, it occurred to me that, that’s exactly what’s happening in Nigeria! We are trying to do the right things the wrong ways. We wake up every morning blaming politicians and raining curses on the Nation and we expect a magic to happen to cause a change. Just like I’d claimed to have bought my phone with my own money (which is true), we claim to have elected those officials into their offices with our voting powers (which is equally true) and we expect them to dance to our tunes…the list is endless.

But NO!!!

True and lasting changes do not happen in the blink of an eye. I needed those 30 seconds of waiting to rewrite my password and make the correction that was needed and so do we, as Nigerians.

One thing: it’s our phone, our nation so WE KNOW the password!

It’s hightime we stopped murmuring, complaining and even transferring aggression. My friend, please take a deep breathe (like I did), exhale slowly and let’s rewrite this Nation’s password- the correct one, the correct way.

One day at a time

One step at a time

We’ll get there


Omowunmi Sodimu is a writer, an editor and a Student Social worker.

She is in her penultimate year in the prestigious University of Lagos, Nigeria.

She deeply loves teenagers and has an unquenchable passion for children.

You can reach her via her:

Facebook account- Omowunmi Sodimu

Email- sodimuomowunmi@gmail.com

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Tee_Mee says:

    Owunmi nailed it!password has to be changed. I second that ma’am.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Shaymâ says:

        You’re welcome.

        Like

Leave a Reply

