​YES Lord, Use me

It was a cold and scary night!

The moon didn’t give its light!

The birds weren’t even chirping,

And the trees all stood still! 
It was all ghost – quiet and seemed like all odds were against me!

I’d been running for hours, days, weeks, months and a few years. Still, I kept running!

I had terrible bruises that hurt really bad but that wouldn’t stop me!

Emptiness and depression hit me, rejection and hurt ate deep; nonetheless, my motivation to run didn’t wane!

I ran into walls, trees, obstacles and fell into gutters yet kept running!
Severally, I took solace in trees and jungle fun but tonight seemed to be different.

Rest was so far from me! 
One step forward, 

A little miscalculation or maybe just frustration from running and I tripped

I fell so hard that in for seconds, I almost couldn’t feel my limbs anymore. 

I thought I had been paralysed!
My heart was beating about 5 times faster

Anybody a couple of metres away could possibly hear it!

I really wanted to continue running but I couldn’t.

I felt frustrated!

I actually was frustrated

It looked like all my efforts had just become futile.

In the midst of my pain, hurt and injuries, 

He stretched his hand!
“Yes Lord, I quit struggling. Use me!” 

That was all I could say.
Written 24th September 2016, 3:24pm
Matthew 11:28-30

MSG version

Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on re­ligion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a re­al rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay any­thing heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep compa­ny with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

Leave a Reply

